News from WhitCo

A celebration of the county’s best

The winners of the Weetabix Northamptonshire Food and Beverage 2022 awards were announced at a sparkling black-tie ceremony at the Royal & Derngate Theatre, Northampton.

The awards, now in their 14th year, celebrate the excellence of local produce and beverages, recognise excellence in the county’s eateries, and reward those who work hard in the culinary industry.

The competition attracted hundreds of nominations and applications across 15 categories from professionals and businesses throughout the county’s food and beverage industry.

The evening began with formal welcomes from awards director, Rachel Mallows MBE DL of The Mallows Company, Jo Gordon from Royal & Derngate and Stuart Branch of headline sponsors, Weetabix. Guests enjoyed a three-course meal made from Northamptonshire ingredients.

The winners of all the categories were presented with trophies by the evening’s special guest presenter and journalist Helen Fospero, who was the Master of Ceremonies. Pictured above are MC Helen Fospero, award-winning Chef of the Year Bart Polinski of Hibiscus Fine Dining, chef Clive Dixon, Whitco CEO Vita Whitaker and Professor David Foskett.

The winners of the Whitco Chef of the Year Award were:

•  Bart Polinski – Hibiscus Fine Dining – Gold

•  Artus Dzerins – Electric Pavillion – Silver

•  Ben Drury – The Red Lion Cranford – Bronze

•  Michael O’Gorman – University of Northampton, Waterside Campus – Bronze