News from WhitCo

Two winners for restaurant of the year…

Two fine dining restaurants tied for the award of Restaurant of the Year, sponsored by Whitco, at the annual Carlsberg Food and Drink Awards.

The joint winners (the first in the eleven-year history of the awards) were the Tresham Restaurant at Rushton Hall Hotel and Murrays Restaurant at Whittlebury Park. 

The runner-up spot went to the Hopping Hare, making it three awards in three years for the Northampton hotel and restaurant.

This year’s awards were marked by a gala dinner and prize-giving at Northampton’s Royal and Derngate Theatres with food provided by student chefs from Northampton College. 

Judges acknowledged what they called “the incredibly high standard of entrants this year,” with a record number of entries across many categories. 

Whitco director Vita Whitaker said: “Year on year, the standards rise and we see an annual demonstration of the incredible skill and high levels of work and commitment from those who work in Northamptonshire’s food and drink sector.

“We are lucky to live and work in a county that is blessed with an abundance of wonderful natural resources, and the enjoy the creative skills and efforts of those who work in our hospitality industry.”

Other award winners included: 

The F&B Achiever of the Year
Shena Cooper, Fruitful Abundance Northampton, Crick
Cheryl Thallon, Viridian Nutrition, Daventry

Weetabix Food Hero of the Year 
Up The Field, Little Irchester

Great Service Award
Apothocoffee Shop Earls Barton

Dining For All with NAB – Sight Support for Northamptonshire

Community Pub of the Year
The Red Lion, Thornby

Booker Food Pub of the Year 
The Plough at Shutlanger

World Cuisine Restaurant of the Year
Jynja Jynja, Northampton

One to Watch
Xachoh Drinks, Silverstone

Independent Café / Tea Room of the Year
Ten Hands Cafe Bar, Towcester

Chef of the Year
Danny Tompkins – Danny Tompkins Chef, Harlestone

Booker Wholesale Young Chef of the Year
Jack Matthews – The White Horse

Artisan Local Drink of the Year
Phipps NBC, Northampton.

Artisan Local Drink of the Year
Frutas Do Bosque Catharina Sour – Boot Town Brewery Brewery, Burton Latimer.

Artisan Local Sweet Product of the Year
Raspberry Fruity Chocolate Belflair Chocolates, Brackley.

Artisan Local Vegetarian / Vegan Product of the Year
Zucchini and Walnut Cake (vgn) and SophistiCake Creations, Northampton.